The Firethroat Tetralogy (3): 12 April 2015

After my third visit to see the male Firethroat at Nam Kham on 4-5 April, people continued to visit the bird daily and witnessed the rapid change of the plumage. The fiery feathers on throat and breast seemed to develop very quickly each day, as well as the solid black face and breast sides. I just couldn’t help planning another trip to catch up with its new look. Finally, the date was set for my 4th trip to Chiang Saen!

On 12 April, my friends and I left Chiang Mai around 3:30am. We arrived in Chiang Rai around 6am and were welcomed with extremely heavy rain. It was raining so hard that I became worried that the bird might have left. Luckily, as we entered into Chiang Saen area, the rain had reduced into drizzle. It was 7:30am when we reached Nam Kham and was joined by Woraphot Bunkhwamdi who first recognized the bird in December. He said he just saw the bird singing loudly from the trail, so we were relieved that the bird hasn’t gone away.

IMG_7036

Our first view of the bird, hopping out into the rain and singing

IMG_7084

IMG_7267

It was very actively singing and it looked really smart! Only some white shafts left on the throat.

IMG_7416

IMG_7499

You can see how wet the day was!

I was the one who went into the hide despite the drizzling rain. It was still quite dark and extremely wet. I even had to wear boots to get through the trail. Not to mention, there were tiny leeches along the way. As I went in, the bird was already singing next to the hide but didn’t come out from the bush. I waited for about 30 minutes listening to its song and the sound of the rain, then finally it slowly hopped out from the dark and stood next to the waterhole as usual. This time it was very actively singing and looking smarter than ever!

IMG_7651 IMG_7662

IMG_7771

This seemed to be its favourite perch for singing.

IMG_7707 IMG_7458 IMG_7837

The light was terrible and I had to push ISO higher than what I normally use. Lucky that this bird was unusually confiding even on the first day it was discovered making photography more bearable. Compared to my last visit, the bird came out more often and stayed around longer probably because the Siberian Rubythroat was already long gone. My friends came into the hide about an hour later and we all enjoyed its thrilling look completely different from what we saw in January and March.

Short video clip of the bird while singing its sweet warbling song in the rain

IMG_8039

Dim light and the rain couldn’t stop the bird from singing from open perch!

IMG_7864 IMG_7870

IMG_7976

You can see how close it was!

IMG_7955 IMG_7967

IMG_8058

Among natural habitat with Khagra reeds (Phragmites karka), key plant species of Nam Kham wetlands

Rain kept falling throughout the morning while we were staying inside the hide watching the Firethroat. It began to get heavier around 9:30am and my friends decided to leave the hide and stayed inside the building at the entrance instead. I continued to stay at the hide until almost noon and was joined by Nick Diamond, a UK birder whom I’ve met once at Nam Kham last year. We both enjoyed a prolonged view of the bird after flying in from behind the hide and dropping right in the middle of the open ground as it often did. Before leaving, we saw it flying up to perch on reed top to sing then flew out.

Singing its sweet song in the middle of the rain

Funny moment when it seemed to be pecking for leftover meal worms or some other sort of food

IMG_8166 IMG_8130

The rain finally stopped as we left around noon with big smile on our faces. It’s amazing to see how drastically it has transformed in such a short period of time. It looked stunning compared to when we first saw it. Just like the last visit, I didn’t think that I’d be coming to Nam Kham again since it seemed to me that the bird could migrate back to its breeding ground anytime. It had almost completed its moult and was very actively singing, so this could be my last time seeing it, but amazingly, I was wrong. Next post will put an end to this long series of photos and notes from my visits to Nam Kham for this male Firethroat and the last visit was also the most memorable one.

3 thoughts on “The Firethroat Tetralogy (3): 12 April 2015

  1. Pingback: The Firethroat Tetralogy (4): 22 April 2015 | ayuwat

  2. “Get Busy Living or Get Busy Dying”. But on to the ar&c3let#82i0; This past year I battled one of my most ferocious enemies. I basically enrolled in a graduate level life course in dealing with difficult people and learning how to forgive, accept and acknowledge them. My current enemies are getting my finances in order and becoming more organized in my life. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

