Chinese Francolin

I visited an area close to Mae Ngat Dam where I usually go for birding on June 1, 2014 right after I arrived back from Bangkok. While I was taking photos of a family of Red-wattled Lapwings, I heard a Chinese Francolin calling from a forest edge not far away. I drove up to look for the bird and found the area where it seemed to be calling from. I tried the playback and the bird responded almost immediately but still kept hidden in a large tree. After a while, the call stopped and I waited for some minutes. I later noticed something moving in the grass not far from my car. It was the francolin! The bird came walking up to where I was waiting but it was impossible to take a photo since the grass was too tall. It later disappeared and mysteriously went back to call from the tree.

IMG_1998

Male Chinese Francolin calling from tall tree

IMG_1986 IMG_2004 IMG_2006

I tried using the playback hoping to lure it back again. This time, the bird flew up and perched on a tree right in front of me. It kept calling from that tree for almost 5 minutes before flying back into the bush. It was the best view I’ve ever got of this extremely shy species.

IMG_2048 IMG_2130 IMG_2154 IMG_2192

I could actually hear 2 more birds calling from different directions. It is still quite a common bird in the right habitat which is grassland in or near deciduous forest. However, hunting still poses as the biggest threat because it is one of the most well known and popular game birds in Thailand.

IMG_2213

One of the two Common Hoopoes found in the same area

IMG_2284

A confiding Green Bee-eater

IMG_2290

Adult Red-wattled Lapwing guarding the fledglings

IMG_1900

IMG_2334

2 of 3 Red-wattled Lapwing fledged chicks

IMG_2386

IMG_2352 IMG_2379

Other birds found in the same area included a pair of resident Common Hoopoes which was feeding on an open lawn along with a family of Red-wattled Lapwing with 1 adult and 3 fledged chicks. A pair of Yellow-eyed Babblers seemed to be nesting nearby too, as well as a pair of Cinnamon Bitterns which were seen flying back and forth indicating that a nest is located somewhere near.

One thought on “Chinese Francolin

Leave a Reply

