Richard’s Pipit

I’ve been back at home in Thailand for more than a week now. On March 4, I visited Mae Hia Agricultural College during the morning to kill some time before travelling to Chiang Rai in the afternoon. The first bird that I saw was surprisingly the normally extremely shy Richard’s Pipit. The bird was foraging on the open track by itself and was unusually camera friendly.

IMG_1398

This photo shows the jizz of a classic Richard’s Pipit including heavy body, long tail, pale lores, relatively large bill and long hind claws.

IMG_1412

Looking a bit thrush-like as described by many authors

IMG_1420

The tail is remarkably longer than Paddyfield Pipit.

IMG_1424 IMG_1425

After the first bird flew out, I walked further into the dry fields and flushed another Richard’s Pipit. In total, I estimated roughly about 3 Richard’s Pipits and 2 pairs of Paddyfield Pipits that morning. It was easier to identify the two species now that the Paddyfield Pipits began to stay in pairs. The male Paddyfield Pipits were also actively performing flight song and display, while Richard’s Pipits showed no interest in gearing up for breeding season.

IMG_1481

The second individual that I came across. This one was more heavily streaked. Because of the hot weather, the bird looked slimmer than most Richard’s Pipit images on the internet.

IMG_1483

The lores can look dark in some angles, so be sure to evaluate only when in profile. You can also see some new adult feathers on the median coverts.

In only about 1 hour, I could get better photos of the Richard’s Pipits more than any visit that I made, so I could quickly retreat and enjoy myself a cup of ice coffee in a nearby coffee shop.

IMG_1536

The third Richard’s Pipit that I photographed. It looked unusually similar to Paddyfield Pipit but the flight call was clearly an explosive “shreep” as I first flushed it.

IMG_1498

It spent some minutes preening and scratching on this lump of earth.

IMG_1563

But in a normal posture, it still shows a remarkably long tail.

IMG_1558

I could get some action shots too.

IMG_1556

Looking even more similar to Paddyfield Pipit when the crown feather is fluffed up!

IMG_1571

Interestingly the hind claws were shorter than usual for Richard’s Pipit. Don’t know if this has something to do with age or just individual variation.

5 thoughts on “Richard’s Pipit

  1. I have to agree with Jack – probably won’t be able to id a Richard’s even if it was standing right in front of me. Good shots and very useful pointers.

  2. Nice observations and great pics, Ayuwat. I’ve seen Richard’s Pipit in Australia but just checked my Pizzey and Knight app to discover that it has been renamed, “Australasian Pipit” there. Is Anthus australis the same bird? Pretty handsome subjects really and always posing.

Leave a Reply

