Rainy Day Surprise

This afternoon I decided to spend some time at the feeder despite the rain and extremely low light. I noticed a pair of Middle Spotted Woodpeckers feeding far at the edge of the wood on the other side as usual. A male Great Spotted Woodpecker came to the feeder as soon as I put out some peanuts on the ground. I quietly wait and hope that something interesting would happen and finally it did. One of the Middle Spotted Woodpeckers decided to fly in and perched right above the feeder. I was too excited and moved a bit too much, so it flew out and spent some time feeding on a tree far away. I sat motionlessly hoping for it to come back and after about 20 minutes it did! This time I was more patient and it slowly came down to the feeder and right before it started feeding, I fired 2 shots which clearly disturbed it, so it quickly flew out. I guess it will take some more days before it becomes familiar with my presence and the shutter sound, just like what it took for the Great Spotted Woodpeckers.

IMG_2442

My first good shot of a Middle Spotted Woodpecker. I took this at the speed of 1/40 sec at ISO 800 without a tripod. It was already amazing that I could manage to take any photo at all. With some photoshop work, I managed to brighten up the image and bring out the colours of the bird and reduce some noise in the background.

IMG_2339 IMG_2341

Some more shots of other birds. Here’s a male Chaffinch which also came to feed on peanuts that I put out on the ground.

IMG_2349

Today’s session at the feeder was dark and wet. Here’s the wet Marsh Tit which came extremely close.

IMG_2354

A male Great Tit to finish this post. Hopefully, the weather will be better tomorrow because I’ll have the whole day to spend at the feeder.

Leave a Reply

