Starting My Feeder

Before Christmas, I set up a feeder in a small forest patch next to my dormitory. After about a week, I could already see that it was a big success. Normally, birds around here are so shy, even the small common ones like tits and nuthatches but with the feeder, everything’s changed!

IMG_3840 IMG_3620

One of the birds that visited the feeder most often was this male Eurasian Nuthatch. In fact, it acted like a boss of the feeder. When it came to the feeder, all other birds (Willow, Blue and Great Tits) just had to flee away.

IMG_3573 IMG_3704 IMG_3892

I think it was the first time for me to really enjoy bird photography since I came here! It really reminded me of the experience I had at Gasthof Papilio in Hokkaido. Bird feeders were like oases for those birds among the snow desert.

IMG_4159

I observed that it only picked up sunflower seeds. After getting one, it’d fly out into the forest to eat then come back shortly.

IMG_3767

The female was a bit shyer and didn’t visit the feeder as often as the male. It has paler underparts, as well as undertail coverts and eye stripe.

IMG_3653 IMG_3634 IMG_3665

But my favourite bird at the feeder was the colourful Blue Tit. There were at least 2 pairs of males and females that regularly visited, but they didn’t seem to get along quite well though.

IMG_3541

The female is slightly duller than the male, especially the blue parts.

IMG_3997 IMG_3970

But they’re probably the most difficult ones to photograph since they’re the fastest among other species at the feeder.

IMG_3468

Great Tits were still somewhat shyer than other species that visited the feeder. Here’s one of the males on a beautiful perch.

IMG_3590

Marsh Tits were the most visited birds but somehow ended up as the least photographed ones. It’s quite understandable though because I’ve already seen and taken some photographs of this species in Japan.

IMG_3080

Another shot of a Marsh Tit at the feeder.

IMG_4291

Other birds that showed up but didn’t come directly to the feeder included at least a pair of Great Spotted Woodpeckers, Hawfinches, a Winter Wren, Eurasian JayCommon Wood Pigeons, Eurasian Treecreeper and Common Blackbirds.

IMG_3819

Even though it didn’t come to the feeder, this non-breeding male Chaffinch was close enough for me to get an ok-ish shot. The first one for me.

IMG_4279 IMG_4280

And this young male Eurasian Sparrowhawk was a nice surprise! As soon as it dashed in, all the small birds just went crazy. Too bad there was this big tree trunk in the foreground blocking almost half of the bird. As soon as I tried to move the camera, it quickly took off and disappeared into the woods.

2 thoughts on “Starting My Feeder

  1. I’ve noticed that Nuthatches dominate these feeding areas and that Great Tits are cowards who flit around the edge………

    The Nuthatches in Europe are much more colourful than in Japan (although ours have been split as ‘Siberian Nuthatch’ now I think).

Leave a Reply

